A new journalism home

Ten months ago, I left full-time reporting.

The respite after 19 years covering Springfield made clear to me that my true professional passion remains with the Fourth Estate, which makes me proud to say today that I’m returning to full-time journalism with a job at Thomson Reuters.

I couldn’t be happier.

The newly created position in Chicago is a big reporting job that will focus on breaking news and analysis on Illinois and Chicago finance, government and politics.

Conditions are tough in Illinois newsrooms. There was no guarantee a terrific opportunity like this would arise, particularly at such a respected media organization with worldwide reach. But it did, and I’m thrilled.

Thank you to everyone who was in my corner during the past 10 months, starting with my wife, Ann Liston; my children, Matt and Laura; my mom; and too many close friends to name.

Thank you also to those who encouraged my freelance work: Michael Arndt and Steve Reiss at Crain’s Chicago Business; Monica Davey, David Leonhardt and Bob Goetz at the New York Times; David Bernstein and Lauren Williamson at Chicago Magazine; the staff at Illinois Issues Magazine; and Carol Marin, Phil Ponce and everyone else at WTTW-TV’s “Chicago Tonight.”

And, most of all, a special thank you to David Greising, Dan Burns, Megan Davies, Alix Freedman, Dayan Candappa and Jo Winterbottom for believing in me and welcoming me onto the Thomson Reuters team, beginning Sept. 8.

I’m looking forward to it. It’s going to be a fun ride.

2 thoughts on “A new journalism home

Leave a Reply

